Steering Committee

The present structure of the network consists of a Steering Committee, led by a Chairperson and two Co-chairs and Task Teams supported by a Advisory Team formed by previous chair and co-chairs of the network.

To ensure active participation of the ECHN steering committee, members are invited to join the committee for one year as part of the task teams. Following this time, members can reapply if able to continue involvement.

Membership of the steering committee should not be automatically renewed to allow for new member involvement, changing priorities of existing members and also reflect that involvement may be task specific or due to geographical location, e.g. assisting in a specific annual IAH congresses organizing committee.


C_MaldanerCarlos Maldaner


Carlos is a PhD candidate at the Centre for Applied Groundwater Research at University of Guelph, Canada. His research focus on flow and contaminant transport characterization in fractured bedrock aquifers. He has a bachelor degree in Geology and a MSc in hydrogeology from University of Sao Paulo, Brazil.


RaquelSosuaRaquel Sousa

Co-chair, PORTUGAL

Raquel has a degree in Environmental and Applied Geology taken in the Science Faculty of Lisbon University and a MSc in Geological Processes from the Évora University where she wrote her thesis on hydrology, hydrogeology and GIS. Her biggest interests are groundwater quality, sustainable development, development and cooperation and groundwater management in low income   countries and rural areas.

Rui Hugman


Co-chair, PORTUGAL

Rui obtained a MSc in Environmental Engineering from the University of the               Algarve (Faro, Portugal) where he has since continued to work as a research             assistant on several projects focusing on hydrogeology and groundwater                     resource management. His research interests centre on numerical modelling               and their application for sustainable resource development, with a particular                focus on the  specific issues inherent to coastal aquifers.

sebnemSebnem Arslan

Task team, TURKEY

Sebnem is a hydrogeology specialist in the Department of Geological Engineering at Ankara University. She is also an Adjunct Associate Research Scientist at Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory of Columbia University. She received her B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Middle East Technical University, Turkey. During 2006-2007 she was a Fulbright visiting scholar at Columbia University where she carried out research as part of her PhD studies. Her research interests center on the use of environmental tracers in subsurface hydrology and arsenic contamination in groundwater.

Stefania Stevenazzi

Task team, ITALY

Stefania is a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Milan (Italy). Her research focuses on groundwater vulnerability assessments of porous aquifers and groundwater contamination related to the presence of urban areas.



TC_1208Tirza Contreras

Task team, HONDURAS

Tirza is a hydrogeologist at National Company of Electrictiy in Honduras (ENEE), working in the area of underground constructions maintenance at the Francisco Morazán hydropower plant. She uses stable isotopes of rain water all over the reservoir to estimate the local meteoric water line. She has a MSc degree in hydrogeoloy from the University of Costa Rica (UCR) and is interested in karst    hydrogeology and stable isotopes


Yassine Echelfi

Task team, HONDURAS 

Yassine, is Ph.D. candidate at Chouaib Doukkali University, El Jadida Morocco. His research focus on groundwater flow and transport modeling,  He is also interested in hydrochemistry and seawater intrusion numerical modelling.    Yassine has a MSc in Management of Natural Resources and Sustainable Development and a bachelor degree in Water Sciences from Mohammed First University, Oujda, Morocco.


 Jared van Rooyen

Task team, S

Jared is a PhD candidate from Stellenbosch University (South Africa), his research is focused on the use of isotopic geochemistry in the investigation of regional groundwater resources with specific focus on modern groundwater distribution and groundwater vulnerability to climate change



 Sabine Henry


Sabine completed her undergraduate and honors degree in Earth Sciences from Stellenbosch University in 2016 and is currently enrolled at the University of Cape Town for her MSc. Her focus is on groundwater chemistry, specifically looking into the application of stable and radioactive isotopes to better understand groundwater systems in Southern Mozambique.


Advisory team

IMG_6203Viviana Re

Past chair (2013-2016), ITALY

Viviana is a Post-Doc at National Engineering School of Sfax (ENIS) – Laboratory of Radio-Analysis and Environment (LRAE) in Tunisia. She obtained a PhD degree from the Ca’ Foscari University of Venice (Italy) in Analysis and Governance of Sustainable Development. Her research interests are isotope hydrogeology, groundwater quality monitoring, and groundwater management in  rural areas.

Judith Flügge

       Past chair (2011-2013), GERMANY         fluegge_sw                                             

Judith is a researcher and project leader at the German Gesellschaft für                     Anlagen-      und Reaktorsicherheit (GRS) mbH. She received her doctorate               degree          from the         Technische Universität Braunschweig (Germany) in           2009. Her research focuses on     groundwater flow and transport modeling and         on long-term safety assessments for     nuclear waste repositories.


MADMatthys Dippenaar

Past Co-chair (2013-2015), SOUTH AFRICA

Matthys has completed his PhD in Hydrogeology on various aspects of vadose zone hydrology in urban settings at the University of Pretoria (South Africa) where he is presently employed as a lecturer. His research interests include unsaturated flow and multiphase flow through soils and fractured rock systems and the modelling and conceptualization thereof, as well as urban hydrology and  urban water history.

Gillian Hurding

                                                         Past Co-chair (2013 – 2016), SCOTLAND


Gillian is currently a MSc student in International Public Policy in Glasgow                  where her research is focused on the importance of hydrogeology for informed            WASH projects in developing nations. Before she was working as a                            hydrogeologist in Perth, Australia. She has a BSc honors degree in Earth                    Science from the University of Glasgow and a Postgrad Certificate in Energy              and Environmental Management. Her interests include sustainability policy,                climate change mitigation and urban geothermal aquifer resources.


                              Mark Cuthbert

CuthbertABCNewsPast co-chair (2011-2012), UNITED KINGDOM

Mark is a post-doc at the University of Birmingham, UK, currently seconded to University of New South Wales (UNSW), Sydney, Australia. His primary research interests are groundwater recharge, stream-aquifer interactions and paleohydrology.




Past Steering Committee members

The ECHN is grateful for all past steering committee members, see all of them here.

ECHN founders (2010)

Judith Flugge (Germany), Mark Cuthbert (UK), Jay Thakur (Germany), Anna Kuczynska (Poland), Grant Ferguson (Canada), Lucy Leyland (UK), Robert Hoogeveen (The Netherlands), Sophie Vermooten (The Netherlands) and Viviana Re (Italy).